Log in

Mentor-Protégé Program

For over 21 years our chapter has offered this award-winning program to current San Diego chapter members to support development and networking in the TD field.

The Mentor-Protégé Program is a unique opportunity for talent development professionals to grow and connect. We pair experienced mentors with aspiring protégés to foster learning, skill development, and networking in a supportive environment. Whether you're new to the field or a seasoned professional, our program offers valuable insights and connections to help you thrive in your career. Both mentor and protégé participants share they learn new things and build their professional network. 

Benefits of participating:

  • Knowledge Sharing: Mentors have the opportunity to share their expertise and experiences, guiding protégés through their professional journey.
  • Professional Growth: Protégés gain valuable insights, feedback, and support, helping them navigate challenges and accelerate their career development.
  • Networking: Both mentors and protégés expand their professional networks, building meaningful relationships within the ATD community.
  • Skill Development: Participants enhance their leadership, communication, and coaching skills, which are crucial in today's dynamic work environment.
  • Community Engagement: The program strengthens our chapter, fostering a culture of collaboration and continuous learning.

Overall, we find that the more focused the protégé is on their goals, the more effective the process is for both participants. A program committee will be choosing all member pairings based on the information in the application. While the energy and enthusiasm of the protégés drive the program, it is the willingness of the mentors to share expertise and encourage individual development that makes this program so outstanding.

What are the requirements to apply? 

  • Must be an active ATD San Diego chapter member
  • Required to attend the program scheduled in-person events (reference dates below in 'Key Dates' section)
  • Submit a complete application by the due date

Are you interested in participating as a mentor or protégé?

The 2024 program will launch in July.  Apply by submitting the relevant application below or for questions reach out to our Director of Membership Engagement & Growth, Emily Mason at You can apply through the below links:

Time commitments are determined by individual agreement of each mentor-protégé pair.  We suggest expecting at least a monthly in-person or virtual meeting.

Key Dates:

  • In-person kickoff: Saturday, August 3rd at 9:00AM 
  • Group meeting 1: Thursday, September 19th from 5:30PM - 8:00PM
  • Group meeting 2: Thursday, October 17th from 5:30PM - 8:00PM
  • Graduation: Thursday, December 5th from 5:30PM - 8:00PM

Group meetings allow for interacting with other mentors, engaging in topical discussions, and are an additional chance to mentor-protégé pairs to connect in addition to regular meetings they schedule.

Given the condensed format of this year’s program, it’s crucial that all interested mentors and proteges are available for the above dates to fully benefit from the experience.

We encourage all interested members to apply and take advantage of this unique opportunity to grow, learn, and contribute to our vibrant community!

Are you interested in joining the committee?

Are you passionate about fostering talent development and building a strong professional community? Join the ATD San Diego Mentor Protege Program Committee! We're looking for enthusiastic individuals who are eager to make a difference by shaping this impactful program. Your contributions will directly support the growth and success of fellow professionals in the field. Gain valuable leadership experience, expand your network, and contribute to a program that helps individuals thrive in their careers. Please note committee members cannot participate as mentors or protégés to ensure a clear division of roles and responsibilities.

If you're ready to make a positive impact, we invite you to join our committee! Click here for the Mentor-Protégé Committee application.

    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software